New mobile black spot funding locations released

New mobile black spot funding locations released


Some of the states worst mobile black spots will receive new base stations to help improve mobile coverage across regional and remote SA.


Some of the states worst mobile black spots will receive new base stations to help improve mobile coverage across regional and remote SA. 

Under round four of the federal governments Mobile Black Spot Program, 29 locations across SA will receive a new base station. 

Federal Minister for Regional Services Bridget McKenzie announced the locations today, with base station sites including Riverton, Little Para Pass, Rhynie and Pichi Richi. 

"Greater availability of mobile services means staying safe in remote areas, keeping in contact with family and friends, accessing online health and education services as well as increased tourism and business opportunities," she said.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone said the state's economic growth will be driven by effective mobile communications.

"The Marshall Liberal Government made a clear election commitment to help address mobile black spots across the state and this is announcement is significant step forward for regional South Australia," Mr Whetstone said.

"Our regional areas are a major driver of our state's economy and are an integral part of the state's identity.

"SA's regions contribute around $25 billion a year to the state's economy, and connectivity is essential to driving our regions' and our state's growth and success."

Under round 4 of the program, $19.4 million will be invested in mobile infrastructure in SA.

This includes $5.5 million funding from the Commonwealth and $5.3 million from the state government. 

Base stations under the first three rounds are scheduled to be operational by June 30, 2019.

While round 4 base stations are expected to rollout shortly with the first new base stations being activated by the second half of the year.

The new base stations are at Arkaroola Village, Baird Bay, Borthwick Hill, Bower Township, Brinkworth,  Buckleboo, Cadney Park, Compton, Cradock -Wirreanda, Ettrick, Flinders Ranges Way, Kangaroo Island East, Little Para Pass, Lyndhurst, Marama, Mount Bryan, Mount Hallett, Mount Mary, Murtho, Murtho South,  Mypolonga, Nepabunna, Nildottie, Pichi Richi, Rhynie, Riverton, Riddoch Hwy, Wistow To Strathalbyn - Long Valley Road and Wunkar. 


From the front page

Sponsored by