Wheat master list adjusted for 2018

Farmers reminded to check wheat list changes

GRAIN CHANGE: Farmers urged to check the wheat master list for 2018 changes.

GRAIN CHANGE: Farmers urged to check the wheat master list for 2018 changes.


Changes to wheat variety master list come into effect in 2018.


Farmers are reminded to stay on top of recent changes to the wheat variety master list produced by Wheat Quality Australia.

The removal or change of class for a number of varieties on the 2018 list was announced back in September 2016, and grain from these eliminated varieties will only be received as ‘feed’ in 2018.

In 2018 these varieties are: Aroona, Eradu, Harrier, Meering, Tincurrin, Schomburgk, Yallaroi, Excalibur BT, Schomburgk, Cadoux, Cascades, Bowie, Leichhardt, Brookton, Tamaroi, Camm, Sunsoft 98, Kalannie, Giles, Arrivato, Petrie, Mitre, Kukri, Thornbill, Lorikeet, Annuello, Drysdale, Mackellar, Qalbis, Kalka, EGA Blanco, GBA Ruby, EGA Wentworth, EGA Wylie, AGT Scythe, SW Odiel, H46, and LRPB Sentinal3R.

Some varieties have also been assessed as requiring a change in class, either up or down grade, a full list of which can be accessed on the Wheat Quality Australia website.

Over the previous three seasons more than 220 varieties have been reviewed with 127 removed from the list in 2016 and 2017, and a further 38 scheduled for removal in 2018

 WQA produces the master list annually, and it contains new varieties approved by the Wheat Classification Panel and approved by the WQA Board.

The wheat classification guidelines require an annual review of ‘old varieties’, these being varieties classified more than 10 years ago, and if they comprise of 0.1 per cent or more of receivals in any zone, they will be retained on the master list, provided there are no quality issues.

Producers should be mindful of classification changes and how they may impact variety mix, and therefore seed retention decisions for the 2018 season.


From the front page

Sponsored by